Books by Becka - Books to nourish mind, soul, and spirit
Here I share reviews of books that are available for purchase through this website. If you are interested in my reviews of other books, you may find them at 

Lael Arrington

Taking her cue from C.S. Lewis, Mrs. Arrington posits that “our failure of desire for God and his kingdom naturally flows from a failure of imagination of the splendor and beauty of our rewards, our promised kingdom, and the God who gives them and himself to us as gifts.” Part memoir, part meditation, part exhortation, Godsight examines the possible reasons for our lack of imagination and desire, explores avenues for renewing the eyes of our hearts, and encourages us to seek a new, true vision of the kingdom life, beginning in the here and now and culminating at that time when we shall know fully even as we are fully known.
This is one of those rare books that is both visually appealing in its physical form and substantive in its content. It acknowledges and affirms our most secret longings, and challenges us to allow God to develop and channel those longings into the perfect plan He has for us, beyond all that we can yet ask or imagine.

The Four Loves
C.S. Lewis 

Lewis begins by drawing a distinction between "gift-love" and "need-love," defining the first as the type of love which motivates a man to work and plan for his family's future well-being although he will not live to see its fulfillment, and the second as that which sends a frightened child running to his mother. There follows a scholarly yet warmly conversational discussion of the four loves known to man: affection, friendship, eros, and charity. In conclusion, the author says, "We must try to relate the human activities called "loves" to that Love which is God." He explains that the Creator implants in us both gift-loves, which are natural images of Himself, and need-loves, which are correlatives. "But in addition to these natural loves God can bestow a far better gift…He communicates to men a share of His own divine gift-love: Love Himself working in a man."

C. S. Lewis's candid reflections help the reader define and sort out the types of love common to human experience, and to determine their right and proper places and functions in relation to one another and to the over-arching love of God which is the wellspring of all human loves.

The Singing Bowl
Malcolm Guite

Singing bowls are believed to have originated in the Himalayan region at least ten centuries ago.  A singing bowl is actually a standing bell, designed to rest on a solid surface with the open end facing up, which is played by either striking the rim with a padded mallet or rubbing the mallet around the rim.  The resulting sound is a fundamental frequency (also known as first harmonic), the lowest tone produced by an instrument, with two harmonic overtones usually audible as well.

In Buddhist practice, singing bowls mark the beginning and end of a period of silent meditation.  They may also signal a change in activity, or simply mark the passage of time.  More widely, singing bowls are used in many cultures worldwide in religious observances, yoga practices, and various types of music and sound therapy.  Their tones are believed to promote relaxation, personal well-being, and healing. 

Each of the poems in this volume, as well as the collection as a whole, serves in some way as a singing bowl, resonating on a number of levels, inviting exploration of different tones and ways of hearing words, prompting reflection, and creating a space for quietness in which healing may begin. 

Finding God in the Land of Narnia
Kurt Bruner and Jim Ware 

C. S. Lewis made it clear that the Chronicles of Narnia were not written as, and were never intended to be read as, allegories.  Rather, the story grew out of a supposition, an imagination of what another fallen world, its history, and its redemption might look like.    
Bruner and Ware, while maintaining an obvious respect for Lewis’s original intent, select brief passages – no more than a sentence or two – from the Narnia books and explore applications to “real life,” drawing connections to holy Scripture, Lewis’s other works, the writings of other great authors, even hymns.  Their thoughtful presentation of these themes is simple and easily understood, but leads one to deeper reflection on the ideas brought forth.